Collins wins Kangaroo Flat’s champion player award

by Nathan Dole
A GREAT season by Liam Collins was capped by winning Kangaroo Flat Football Netball Club’s seniors best and fairest award for 2018.

Collins’ consistency was reflected by a votes tally of 107 as he took out the Roos major award ahead of Jonathan Lanyon, 102 votes, and co-coach Corey Greer, 95.

The Roos’ best and fairest vote count and presentation night was held at Kangaroo Flat Sports Club.

On the netball court, Ingrid Hopkins scored 56 votes to win A-grade from Chelsea Sartori, 50, and Danielle Markwell on 47 votes.

The Jayden Cowling-coached A-grade team finished third  this season and the coach has re-signed for another year.

It’s already been a busy off-season for newly appointed senior coach Rob Bennett and the Roos’ recruiting team.

Players already signed for 2019 include Matt Boland, who previously played for Parkdale, Subiaco and had stints at VFL level with Sandringham and Collingwood.

The Roos’ playing assistant coach will be Matt Clifford from Hastings.

A midfielder in the Hastings premiership team of 2016, Scott Jansen has also signed with Kangaroo Flat.

Another newcomer to the Flat will be Daniel Rees who previously played for Hepburn and Horsham Saints.

Players to have re-signed for 2019 include Corey Greer, gun ruckman and 200-game player Nick Lang, as well as Ross Turner and Jackson Fry.

A dual premiership coach at North Bendigo, Rob Bennett led the Bulldogs to four consecutive grand finals appearances.

Kangaroo Flat FNC will run an information night for current and prospective players for the under-18 football team on Friday, October 19 from 6.30pm at Kangaroo Flat Sports Club, Dower Park.

The Kangaroo Flat FNC best and fairest tallies for the 2018 season:

Senior football:

107 Liam Collins, 102 Jonathan Lanyon, 95 Corey Greer, 90 Ross Turner, 79 Matt Filo, 78 Dylan Klemm, 70 Nick Lang.

Reserves football:

86 Jack Cooke, 55 Hayden McSwain, 45 Joel McCurdy, 45 Travis Thatcher, 42 Jay McLeod, 40 Isaac Douthie, 33 Daniel Stagg, 31 Daniel Dempster, 30 Jacob Gledhill, 30 Caleb Williams.

Under-18 football:

82 Kyle Symons, 68 Lachlan Tranter, 66 Brodie Fry, 49 Mitchell Rovers, 43 Max Johnson, 37 Ethan Roberts, 31 Hakeem Johnson, 29 Darcy McClure, 19 Joshua Leersen, 17 Jade Mayes, 17 Darcy Poulter.

Senior women’s football:

70 Eilish Cumming, 63 Heidi Erasmus, 36 Christa Lingen, 26 Corinne Harris, 25 Melanie Hull, 21 Rachel Thomas, 19 Alex O’Toole, 18 Natalie Watson, 18 Shelby Knoll, 17 Meg Parker, 17 Eloise Gretgrix.

A-grade netball:

56 Ingrid Hopkins, 50 Chelsea Sartori, 47 Danielle Markwell, 40 Millie Wicks, 26 Brooke Lowry, 22 Jess Thompson, 6 Adrienne Murphy, 3 Ruby Barkmeyer, 2 Lauren Cowling.

A-reserve netball:

52 Julia Clarke, 50 Annie Spear, 46 Natalie Tavare, 44 Meg Ginnivan, 32 Bridget Chambers, 32 Ellie Lothian, 16 Bronte Miller, 7 Alicia McGlashan, 5 Nicola McIvor, 2 Melanie Politis, 1 Jess Ford, 1 Bridie Semmens.

B-grade netball:

107 Melania Politis, 41 Georgina Lowther, 39 Lucy Lang, 30 Jess Ford, 25 Chelsea Goulden, 18 Rachel Winfield, 17 Kate Newman, 12 Kate Hare, 9 Alex Rushbridge, 8 Emily Gray, 8 Nat Travare, 6 Ella Wicks, 2 Millie Lowndes, 2 Bree Bentley.

B-reserve netball:

77 Millie Lowndes, 39 Abbey McLean, 38 Isobella Pearse, 36 Molly Drum, 38 Kindra Higgins, 30 Sophie Nicholson, 27 Shea-anna Cairns, 18 Ella Bates, 15 Charlotte Edlin, 8 Emma Cravino, 4 Abbey Grindal, 2 Laura Brooks.

Under-17 netball:

99 Ella Wicks, 55 Bridie Semmens, 52 Rachelle McLean, 42 Abbey Grindal, 22 Brianna Pedretti, 12 Jasmine Collins, 6 Isabella Pitto, 5 Lucia Dyer, 3 Keely Petersen, 1 Rebecca Elliott.

Development squad:

38 Katie McKellar, 37 Sophie McLean, 33 Rebecca Elliott, 30 Claudia Shelton, 11 Lydia Lowndes, 9 Sophie Walsh, 7 Alex Rushbridge, 2 Lily McClure, 1 Madee McClure.

  • Sportspower
  • Sherrin
  • Beiersdorf
  • Bartnprint
  • Win Tv
  • Fresh Fm
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • Workforce Xs
  • Cub
  • High Street Xray
  • Redonion Creative
  • Burbank
  • Afs
  • Coffee Storm
  • Bendigo Bank

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative