Geary earns Peter Crapper Memorial Medal as Strath Storm’s best

by Nathan Dole
THE classy Kallen Geary won the Peter Crapper Memorial Medal as Strathfieldsaye Storm Football Netball Club’s seniors best and fairest for the 2018 season.

Geary’s non-stop run, precise passing and courage are major strengths of his game.

Storm’s captain played a crucial role in the club reaching another grand final.

Runner-up in the seniors team champion award was tough on-baller Josh Formosa.

A great night for the Geary family included Kallen’s older brother Shannon being presented with the most courageous award.

Despite being limited to 10 matches because of injury, gun full-forward Lachlan Sharp led Storm’s goalkicking on 74.

Most consistent was key forward Bryce Curnow.

Talented ruckman Harry Crone earned the Best Team Man award.

Under-21 Rising Star was Lachlan Ratcliffe.

Jake Moorhead earned the MVP Players Award.

Best Player across the three finals Storm contested was Sam Heavyside.

The Troy Coates-coached Storm achieved a win-loss record of 16-2 to be on top of the ladder at the end of the regular season.

The club’s quest for back-to-back senior premierships was denied by a red-hot Eaglehawk on grand final day.

The Brett Fitzpatrick-coached reserves was runner-up to Sandhurst.

Best and fairest winner was Jordan Formosa.

Runner-up was Zebb Murrell.

Most consistent was Jack Neylon and he was voted Best Player in Finals.

Connor Looney earned the most improved award.

Leading goalkicker was Joshua Martyn on 42.

Best New Talent award was presented to Shannon Murphy.

The Bart Leahy-coached under-18s finished the season in third place.

Best and fairest was won by Riley Wilson.

Runners-up were  Mitchell Wakefield and Daniel Clohesy.

Most consistent award went to the versatile Ed Hyett.

The most improved award was presented to Ryan Kealey.

The coaches award was earned by Zac Charles.

Mason Wakefield was presented with the Rising Star award.

Leading goalkicker was Jedd Rodda on 31.

Best Player in Finals was Cal McCarty.

Players to reach the 100-game milestone were Tom Dowd and Brenton Sharp.

Key off-field players Roger Barbetti and Glen Cowling earned prestigious awards.

Barbetti was presented with the Tracy Wilson Memorial Best Clubperson Medal.

A past president at Storm, Cowling was awarded life membership of Strathfieldsaye Storm FNC.

In a year where she played her 100th game for the club, Ashlee Barbetti was the A-grade netball best and fairest.

Runner-up was Elyse Morgan.

The Storm Spirit award was presented to Alice Layton.

In A-reserve, Jackie Geary also hit the 100-game mark for Storm and was this season’s team champion.

Runner-up in the best and fairest award was Abbey Hayes.

Storm Spirit award went to Justine Fitzgibbon.

The B-grade best and fairest was taken out by Jessica Moloney.

Runner-up was Bethany Hromenko.

Storm Spirit award was presented to Lucinda Parsons.

In B-reserve, Cheslia Haebich won the best and fairest, as Chelsea Crapper was runner-up.

The Storm Spirit award went to Claudia Petri.

Best Player in Finals was Chelsea Crapper.

Winner of the 17-under best and fairest was Ava Hamilton.

Runner-up was Angelica Jack.

Meg Layton earned the Storm Spirit award.

Other highs in the netball season included the 100-game milestone achieved by Mia Shanahan and Lisa Smalley.

Strathfieldsaye was also represented in the Bendigo Strathdale Netball Association’s division one action.

Best and fairest was Bridgette Keath.

Runner-up for the team champion award was Indi Crone.

Holly Sparrow earned the coaches award.

  • Sportspower
  • Burbank
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Workforce Xs
  • Cub
  • Bartnprint
  • Fresh Fm
  • Win Tv
  • Beiersdorf
  • Sherrin
  • Redonion Creative
  • Afs
  • Coffee Storm
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • High Street Xray
  • Bendigo Mazda

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative