Baird wins Golden Square’s club champion award

by Nathan Dole
BRILLIANT midfielder Adam Baird won Golden Square Football Netball Club’s seniors club champion for the 2018 season.

Baird polled 169 votes to claim the Bulldogs major award.

Runner-up was club captain and gun on-baller Jack Geary on 132 votes.

Golden Square’s vote count and presentation night was held at the All Seasons International.

The Bulldogs’ result was a reversal of the Michelsen Medal in which Geary and Baird achieved a one-two finish in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior fairest and best award.

The top five in Square’s race was rounded out by defender Jon Coe, 102 votes; ruckman Matt Compston, 62; and centre half-forward Jayden Burke 59.

The Rising Star awarded was presented to Brayden Welsh.

It was a tie between Jayden Burke and Dylan Johnstone for the senior goalkicking award.

On the netball court, Allira Holmes polled 19 votes to be the A-grade club champion.

Runner-up was Zoe Douglass, 13 votes.

A great season by talented teenager Bree Heiden included a third-place finish in the best and fairest and being presented with the coaches award by coach Kendyl Hopley.

It was dramatic finish for the reserves football best and fairest as Callum Draper finished a vote clear of Kane Shelton.

Six votes separated first to sixth as Draper, 25, and Shelton, 24, led the way.

Most improved award went to Josh Pethyrbridge.

Coach Steven Donat presented the coaches award to Sheldon Burke.

In A-reserve netball, Kristen Wilson was a runaway winner on 29 votes.

Joint runners-up were Amy Buckell and Jody Richards, 13 voters.

Maddy Keighran earned the coaches award presented by coach Jody Richards.

A brilliant boxer, Tully Scanlon capped a great footy season by winning the under-18s best and fairest.

Scanlon scored 45 votes as Alex Jenkyn was runner-up on 27.

Most consistent award went to Harrison Goode, as Tim Fitzpatrick earned the most improved award.

The B-grade netball award went to Kathryn Meade as Tess Davies and Ally Flynn were joint runners-up.

Coach Aimee Ryan presented the coaches award to Macy Brown.

The B-reserve team champion was Gabby Munari, 28 votes, from Maeve Delahunty, 23.

The coaches award decided on by coach Tess Davies and assistant coach Millie Donegan went to Nikki Wilson.

It was a close call for the under-17s best and fairest as Abbey Clohesy polled 19 votes and Ash O’Shea was runner-up on 18.

Coach Melinda Keighran presented the coaches award to Kayla Ashcroft.

Votes in Golden Square FNC’s best and fairest awards for the 2018 season:

Seniors: Adam Baird 169, Jack Geary 132, Jon Coe 102, Matt Compston 62, Jayden Burke 59, Jake Thrum 52, Lachlan Humphrey 33, Braydon Welsh 32, Will Lee 30, Hamish Morcom 26, Dale Lowry 22, Brad Eaton 21, Ryan Hartley 21, Dylan Johnstone 16, Michael Dalrymple 11, Liam Marciano 10, Mitch Treacy 5, Will Harrington 3, Nathan Holt 2, Alex Jenkyn 2.

A-grade: Allira Holmes 19, Zoe Douglass 13, Bree Heiden 12, Carly Ladson 11, Ally Symons 8, Julie Fennell 7, Millie Donegan 7, Kath Basilewsky 6, Kristen Wilson 3, Gabe Richards 3, Makayle Dole 1.

Reserves: Callum Draper 25, Kane Shelton 24, Thomson Goode 23, Will Harrington 22, David Symons 20, Henry Anderton 19, Sheldon Burke 15, Josh Pethybridge 15, Will Johnstone 13, Lachlan Archibald 12, Ewen Pickles 11, Tom Paterson 11, Ryan Hartley 10, Bailey George 9, Corey Van Aken 8, Jemuel Pryse 8, Shaun Young 7, Zed Marshall 7, Harry Donegan 5, Zach Holmes 5, Adam Symons 5, Dean Norris 4, Nathan Fall 3, Brayden Dorrington 3, Caleb Avery 3, Ned Ashworth 3, Clay Anstee 3, Dylan Johnstone 3, Brett Monti 3, Brandon Bynon 2, Connor Thomson 2, Ashton Arthur-Hay 2, Dale Lowry 2, Tom Walters 2, Dale Ashby 1, Harrison Burke 1, Ben Lowndes 1, Misha Oldmeadow 1.

A-reserve:Kristen Wilson 29, Amy Buckell 13, Jody Richards 13, Madeline Keighran 12, Shannon Dillon 7, Keely Wilson 6, Lia Marrone 5, Erin McGurk 3, Ally Symons 3, Millie Fogarty 3, Cass Humphrey 3, Kath Basilewsky 3, Tess Davies 1, Kathryn Meade 1.

Under-18: Tully Scanlon 45, Alex Jenkyn 27, Harrison Goode 23, Zack Shelton 17, Zed Marshall 17, Harry McCormick 13, Jack Ginnivan 13, Harrison Burke 12, Braydon Vaz 10, Ben Daley 9, Harrison Bynon 9, Mitch Christensen 7, Tom Walters 6, Tom Strauch 6, Lachlan Archibald 5, Jordan Bydeveldt 5, Brodie James 3, Daine Grace 2, Zavier Murley 2, Ricky Monti 2, Jack Merrin 2, Lachlan Monti 1, Patrick Hinton 1, Tim Fitzpatrick 1, Jacob Draper 1.

B-grade: not supplied.

B-reserve – Gabby Munari 28, Maeve Delahunty 23, Kendyl Hopley 15, Emily Seery 14, AishTupper 13, Mel Lowther 10, Emily McDougal 8, Renee Brown 5, Nikki Wilson 5, Emily Griffin 4, Madeline Marks 1.

Under-17: Abbey Clohesey 19, Ash O’Shea 18, Audrey Andrews 17, Maddie Marks 15, Kayla Ashcroft 12, Jess Demeo 7, Maddie Lourie 6, Alannah Bell 5, Gracie Sladden 3,

Jools for Jim Hair Skin & Beauty netball awards:

A-grade: Julie Fennel.

A-reserve: Kristen Wilson.

B-grade: Adelaide Annand.

B-reserve: Emily Griffin.

Under-17: Jess Demeo.

Sharp Shooter award went to Macy Brown, 547 goals.

  • Cub
  • Afs
  • Sherrin
  • Fresh Fm
  • Sportspower
  • Win Tv
  • Burbank
  • Bartnprint
  • Beiersdorf
  • High Street Xray
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Workforce Xs
  • Redonion Creative
  • Coffee Storm
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Bendigo Mazda

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative