Fallon adds George Ilsley Medal to his haul

by Nathan Dole
A GUN recruit in what became a premiership year, Jack Fallon has won the George Ilsley Medal as Eaglehawk Football Netball Club’s seniors club champion.

The versatile Fallon played a crucial role in the Hawks’ run to its first seniors grand final victory in a decade.

Recruited from Merbein in the Sunraysia league, Fallon polled 75 votes to join a who’s who of Eaglehawk greats to have won the best and fairest.

The Josh Bowe-coached Eaglehawk beat Strathfieldsaye in the duel for the Bendigo Advertiser premiership cup.

Runner-up in the Borough’s senior club champion award was Jesse Collins as young star Gedd Hommelhoff was third.

Next best in the medal race were Riley Saunders and Ben McPhee.

The team’s leading goalkicker was Sean Williams, 64 goals.

A class act through midfield or in attack, Hommelhoff earned the young gun award.

Tough on-baller Brodie Collins was best in the finals campaign.

Oscar Madden’s outstanding play in defence earned the John Ledwidge Coaches Award.

A vote separated the top two in the race for the Alan Williams Medal as reserves club champion.

Aiden Metcalf scored 66 votes to claim the title from Jake Dickens, 65; Cory Jacobs, 64; and Ben Thompson, 61.

Leading goalkicker was Cody Green, 51.

Luke Collins earned the coaches award, and Cory Jacobs was best in a finals run that ended in the preliminary final.

The Borough Blood Award was presented to Brendan Tanner.

In a season where he was captain of the reserves line-up and hit the 200-game milestone for the club, Jared Reilly was presented with life membership of Eaglehawk FNC.

It was a close call for the Darren Thompson Medal for the under-18s.

A tally of 79 votes clinched the medal for Zack Bulger as Jack Thompson was runner-up on 75.

Next best were Corey Roberts, 53; Brody Brown and Riley Neaves, 52.

The coaches award was earned by Corey Roberts.

On the netball court, Ash Ryan capped another brilliant season in mid-court by winning the Wendy Ryan Medal as best and fairest for the A-grade team.

A runner-up for the Betty Thompson Medal as the Bendigo FNL’s fairest and best, Ryan polled 39 votes to claim the Two Blues award.

Runner-up was Elley Lawton, 33, and Abbey Ryan was third on 28 votes.

Best in the finals series were Dayna McGough and Abbey Ryan.

The coaches award was presented to Bridget  Murray.

Voting for the Kylie Piercy Medal as A-reserve team champion was dominated by Simone Foster.

After the final card was called, Foster was on 47 votes.

Runner-up was Toni Burns, 26 votes, from Renee McCluskey, 25.

The coaches award was presented to Imogen Davies.

A dramatic finish to the B-grade award ended with Maddy Atherton and Emily Kinder locked on 48 votes.

Runner-up was Lydia Barri, 36 votes.

The coaches award was earned by Jasmine Kinder.

It was a tie for the B-reserve award as Phoebe Baines and Darcy Thompson polled 38 votes.

Next best were Stacee Burns, 27, and Emily Ellis, 26.

The coaches award went to Tess Doran.

Talented youngster Jasmine Condliffe polled 39 votes to win 17-under best and fairest from Charli Dean, 30 votes.

A tally of 27 votes earned a third-place finish for Chelsea Hicks, who also received the coaches award.

Among the many highs of the night was presentation of the George Ennor Memorial best clubperson award to Brett Crapper.

  • Coffee Storm
  • Bartnprint
  • Sportspower
  • High Street Xray
  • Sherrin
  • Cub
  • Win Tv
  • Afs
  • Workforce Xs
  • Burbank
  • Redonion Creative
  • Beiersdorf
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • Fresh Fm
  • Bendigo Party Hire

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative